Hans Christian Andersen Award

Every two years the winners of the Hans Christian Andersen Awards are announced. These awards, one for an author and another for an illustrator, are given out by IBBY (International Board for Books for Young people). They are considered by some to be the children’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

2006 Winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award

This year’s recently announced winner is New Zealand writer Margaret Mahy. She is acknowledged worldwide as a significant writer of children’s books and poetry. Her many titles have become children’s favourites the world over. Margaret has written many award winning books over the last several decades. This award duly recognises her standing in the world of children’s literature.

To visit her web site click here.

To find out more information about her click here.

To find out about IBBY click here.

To see a list of previous winners click here.


Comments are closed.